Not a Paella

A cooking and creating bug hit me hard on the weekend and I ended up making a schmorgasborg of seitan based sausages. After enjoying a meal of some nice pan fried sausages, a meaty pasta and freezing some to see how that’ll work out, I’m still left with a bunch that I was going to whip up into dinner tonight. I asked ryan what a good sausage recipe would be and he suggested paella. So it was set! Kind of…

It had been since I was in Barcelona 2 years ago since I’ve had paella and I had certainly never made it before. Comfy on the couch I started perusing the Internet in search of a nice inspirational recipe. Unfortunately I got nothing but turned off. Having pasta last night, I really wasn’t feeling anything tomato based and cooked peppers and me just don’t get along too well since my childhood (we may get into that later, who knows).

So alas! I decide screw it, I’m making a white paella, which in reality is just a rice dish made along the same lines. But hey, my heart was in Spain even though this dish was not..

  

2 veggie sausages, sliced into medallions
1/2 a medium vidalia onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
4 cremini mushrooms, roughly chopped
1 cob of corn, kernels cut off
1 cup chopped swiss chard
2 tsp fresh rosemary
1 1/4 cup vegetable stock
1/4 tsp chili flakes
1/2 cup brown rice
1 tbsp olive oil
Pepper to taste

Heat olive oil over medium high heat in a large saucepan. Toss in sausage, onion and garlic and cook for 5 minutes until browned. Add mushrooms, chard and rosemary and cook for an additional 3-4 minutes. Add stock and deglaze the pan with it. Bring to a boil, add rice and reduce to a simmer. Place a tight fitting lid on and cook for about 50 minutes or il rice is tender. Enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

